Flamsteed House

Flamsteed House

Following a request by the construction company building Kings Crescent for a historic name to be applied to part of the new building, the committee chose John Flamsteed, the First Astronomer Royal, as the name to be put forward.

John was an Old Derbeian, having left the school in 1662, and it seemed entirely appropriate that we should put forward this old boy as our preferred name.

We are now informed that the developers, Grace Construction & Management Ltd., have named the block affronting Edward Street, Flamsteed House.

It is a terrific recognition of our history and link to the old school for this block to be named in Flamsteed’s honour, so thanks must go to the developers for thinking about the history of the site.” Barry Sheard Archivist

 

In Memoriam – John Reader Blackton MBE

It is with great sadness that we announce the death on 27 December 2018 of John Reader  Blackton MBE, principal founder of Derby Grammar School.

It was owing to his experience and expertise in education as a Fellow of the Woodard Corporation that he was the driving force in opening the school at the Rykneld Road site  in Littleover in 1995 and his memory lives on in the form of Blackton House, so entitled as to honour all that John did for us.

We will be forever grateful and indebted to him for his generosity of spirit, benevolence and vision. He will be remembered fondly by
governors, staff, alumni and pupils. Our thoughts and prayers are with his family and our thanks to his widow, Joan, whose support of her husband’s work has been invaluable.